Core Technologies


Forward genetic screening with amino acid resolution for target discovery

We developed an unbiased forward genetic screening approach that uncovers the molecular on- and off-target space of drug candidates at unprecedented amino acid resolution. We use chemical mutagenesis combined with next generation sequencing and advanced bioinformatics algorithms to identify specific amino acid sites that are critical for the drug’s mode of action. Through saturating screens we are able to map the compound-target binding interface.

Through this platform Angalbio will thus identify entirely new drug targets as well as further the understanding of existing drug’s and natural compound’s modes of action.

Technical Feature:

Completeness

The Acus screening approach interrogates the complete genome in an entirely unbiased fashion. The technology identifies target structures and no prior knowledge on a potential mechanism of action is needed. It can also function as an orthogonal validation tool for existing data. Importantly, our approach includes the analysis of essential genes, that are frequently targeted by small molecules, and that are largely invisible to other screening technologies.


Resolution

Through saturated screening, the Acus technology allows to map compound-target binding interfaces at amino acid resolution. The screen thus not only identifies the relevant target, but also the amino acids required for the interaction with the drug compound. The information obtained from this “structural biology by genetics” approach is a key for advanced and rational drug design and drug modifications.


Relevance

The Acus screening approach requires no compound modifications but can use any relevant active substance. Importantly, the screen is performed in intact cellular systems, reflecting physiological conditions that ensure physiologically meaningful results. Finally, our technology can be applied to a wide range of different cellular systems enabling compound and indication-specific screening setups.

靶点开发


氨基酸水平分辨率的正向遗传学筛选技术--靶点开发

技术优势:安酷团队开发的无偏倚正向遗传学筛选技术能够达到前所未有的氨基酸级分辨率, 揭示药物结合靶点或脱靶的分子空间结构,通过运用化学诱导突变与二代测序和生物信息学算法相结合的方法,来鉴定药物作用方式中关键的氨基酸位置。通过饱和的化学诱导突变,我们能够在氨基酸水平准确描述化合物与靶点的结合位点, 从而为合理的药物设计提供重要信息。该技术不仅能够鉴定全新药物靶点,而且有助于揭示已有药物和天然化合物的作用机理。

技术特点:

全面性

安酷团队的筛选方法以完全无差别的方式检测整个基因组,该技术无需事先了解药物潜在的作用机理就能识别靶点结构。它也可以用作现有数据的正交验证工具。更重要的是,我们的方法包括对必需基因的分析,这些必需基因通常是小分子药物的靶点,而这是其他筛选技术目前所不能达到的。


高分辨率

通过饱和筛选,安酷团队的技术可以在氨基酸级分辨率下绘制化合物与靶点的相互作用。因此,这一筛选技术不仅能识别相关靶蛋白,而且还能找到对药物与靶蛋白结合起关键作用的氨基酸。这种通过遗传学方法从结构生物学中获取的信息对于药物的合理设计和药物修饰具有重要意义。


关联性强

安酷团队的筛选方法不需要化合物的修饰,且可以使用任何相关的活性物质。重要的是,筛选是在完整的细胞系统中进行的,反映了在生理条件下得到的具有生理学意义的结果。最后,我们的技术可以应用于各种不同的细胞系统,从而实现化合物和适应症的筛查设置。